Wedding photographer, Starbucks enthusiast, and lover of all things romance and weddings.

MEET Andrea

What is a “Love Language”

I’m a huge advocate that everyone should know their love language! If you’re confused about what I’m talking about no worries, I can explain! There are 5 primary love languages; Words of affirmation, Quality time, Receiving gifts, Acts of service and Physical touch.
Everyone experiences love differently, and it’s easy to miss the mark when it comes to showing that you care. Knowing what your Love language is or the love language of those around you can truly help you give and receive love in a more meaningful way. This isn’t just for romantic relationships, this also applies to friends and family. So now you ask- how can you find out your love language?!

Where to Find out Your Love Language

I recommend going to “the 5 Love Languages” website  to take the quiz online! I personally recommend downloading the quiz, saving it and filling out your answers. You might shock yourself with the results, but I can tell you, without a doubt, you will learn more about yourself.

Bonus: This can be a fun date night thing to do with your significant other. Print out two copies of the quiz and both take the quiz separately. Once you are both done you can sit down again together and talk about your results. You could even walk through each question to better understand why the other answered the way that they did!

*This website also has a quiz for solo individuals! And I 100% think even if you aren’t in a relationship this is important information to learn about yourself and how you are when showing your love to friends, family members, and future relationships.

Let’s dive into the 5 Love Languages

Words of Affirmation

How romantic are handwritten love notes?
If your love language is words of affirmation (like mine!) this absolutely tugs at the heart strings. Which is the number one reason why I will always cry when I watch wedding videos where the videographers have the voice over of the bride and groom reading their letters to each other! It just brings me so much joy that people are able to express their love in that way.❤️ Having this as a love language has been a learning curve throughout relationships. I always knew hearing the words, “I love you,” were important—BUT I wanted to be hearing the reasons behind that love, because the reasons are what spoke to me. Luckily, I am in a relationship who full heartedly understands this, as well as my close friends know this about me and we will be able to send those random messages to each other saying “hey thank you for your constant support!” Find the people who know you, and your love language!

Receiving Gifts

Gifts can be visual symbols of love. Often this love language is looked as “materialistic” but that’s just not the case. A person whose love language is receiving gifts thrives on the love, thoughtfulness, and effort behind the gift. The value of the gift is often less important compared to the significance of the gift. ⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀⠀
For me personally, Christmas time is a fun time but also kind of stressful! When I give gifts I try my best to make them functional, sentimental or something I know the other person will really love based on their interests! And I appreciate when people give me gifts that do the same!
It’s really sweet when someone can look at something and instantly say “that looks like something this person would love, I’m going to surprise them with it!” THAT’s what this love language is all about!

Acts of Service

Can vacuuming the floors really be an expression of love? Absolutely! Anything you do to ease the burden of responsibilities weighing on an “Acts of Service” person will speak volumes.
In other words, saying: “Let me do that for you” is music to the ears of those with acts of service as their love language.
But there’s also different ways to serve depending on the person, which is why open communication is so valuable! (Now the conversational hearts are making sense with the post)
For instances, a roommate I had in college would cook for me while I continued working on tasks! Then in return after we would eat, I would do the dishes! It was an even way to demonstrate an act of service and relieving the other of a task that they see as more of a burden.

Physical Touch

Physical touch is a powerful love language. Whether that is embracing someone in a time of crisis or to congratulate someone on exciting news, physical touch has the ability to bring a sense of security and connection to any relationship.
There are a multitude of ways physical touch can demonstrate love and thoughtfulness. It could be holding hands, laying your head on your partner’s shoulder, hugging someone hello or goodbye, dancing together, honestly the list goes on!
Just like someone might feel loved after reading a note from their partner, another person may get that same feeling when their partner runs his or her hand through their hair.
This is why when photographing couples, I like to be able to show that connection through physical touch. Holding hands walking with each other, dancing in a field together, running towards each other to meet with an embrace! Those moments show you’re connect and love in a way that is unique to every couple.

Quality Time

The love language that may just be the most common among people I know. Quality Time isn’t just being together but really truly being together. If this is your primary language, nothing says, “I love you,” like full, undivided attention with the TV off, fork and knife down, all chores and tasks on standby, and your phone away from arms reach.
My challenge for you all is to take time this weekend and spend undistracted, uninterrupted, Quality Time with the people that mean the most to you.

Ending Thoughts

When I first took this quiz I became more aware of how I show love to the people around me. I’ve become a better communicator when it comes to my emotions, and for that I am so thankful! If you know your love language already let me know, I’m interested to hear from you! You can always tag me in your stories on Instagram or on your posts on Facebook showing how you and your loved one are celebrating your love language.

Thank you so much for reading along and Happy Valentine’s Day ❤️
To read more of my blogs make sure to visit my website: To The Blog


Do You Know Your Love Language?

© With Grace and Gold Showit Template / Customized by andrea cooper
 Photography By Andrea Cooper Photography.

What is your Bridal Style?